Museum of Epirus Folk Art – “Kostas Frontzos”

Address: Ioannina
Fax: +30 26510 21203

Social Media:

The Museum of Epirus Folk Art – “Kostas Frontzos” is housed today in a three-story, newest traditional building, with stone walls that have a symmetrical arrangement of the openings on all sides, with a total area of ​​approximately 600 sq.m. And a new basement building of approximately 250 m².

It was built around 1800-1808 and belonged to Arifes or Raze and Safiy, widow and daughter of Ahmet Moussi. Prior to the release, a Turkish Primary School was housed. Later and until 1935 he housed the school of Ioannina. Until 1938 he housed the newly founded Pedagogical Academy as well as during the 1940-44 war. After the war he worked as a Junior High School and as a Technical School of Foremen.

In 1976, it was bought by the Public Company of Continental Studies (EHM) and it was designed internally to house the Folklore Museum of Continental Folk Art “K. Fronzos”. The presence of the Museum’s exhibits, qualitatively and quantitatively, is unique for the Continental site and is as important as the equivalent exhibitions of the country.

The building has been fully restored.

Winter: From the 1st of November until the 31 of March 2010: 8:30-15:00

Get Listed for Free!

Submit your listing from, and benefit from ever-growing audience

Get Listed Now!

Ioannina GR
Get directions